What Can Be Done If You Can’t Delete Admin User in High Sierra?

The use of Migration Assistant helps the members of the Apple family to move their personal documents, apps, and settings to a new MacBook or Mac in a safe and efficient manner. The utility has been designed to zap the need for the exhausting process of manually locating and copying all necessary files and folders to a new machine. By simply positioning the two computers next to each other and connecting them via Wi-Fi, it is possible to quickly initiate and conduct the information transfer. In addition to moving files, the following items can also be transferred to a new Mac: computer and network settings, applications, and user accounts.

To set up and run Migration Assistant, there is a need to have an administrator account. Prior to using this easy method of data migration, Mac owners are asked to enter their administrator password. However, after the data transfer is finished, some users discover that the new Mac has two administrator accounts one of which cannot be removed. The problem is especially prominent for macOS High Sierra users. The significance of the issue is underscored by the fact that the extra admin account opens an additional avenue of using the Mac with administrator privileges, which increases the security threat. The diminished security associated with the extra account means that if someone logs in to the computer as an administrator, they can tamper with essential OS files, steal data, and remove user accounts among others. Therefore, it is always necessary to ensure that a temporary administrator account is deleted after the process of migration is successfully completed.

This article aims to help those macOS High Sierra users who have migrated their data to a new machine to delete their old administrator account.

How to Remove the Temporary Administrator Account?

The temporary administrator account can be removed from a machine by using the following workaround:

  1. Log out of the currently used administrator account by choosing the Log Out option in the Apple Menu (make sure you disable the Reopen Windows When Logging Back In option);
  2. Log in to the temporary account (THAT HAS TO BE REMOVED);
  3. Access the System Preferences through the Apple Menu;
  4. In the System Preferences, click on the Users & Groups icon;

macos settings

  1. Click on the padlock icon in order to unlock the settings;
  2. From the list of accounts, select the one (THAT HAS TO BE LEFT);
  3. Click on the Change Password option;
  4. Change the password of the account (THAT HAS TO BE LEFT);
  5. Log out;
  6. Log in to the account (THAT HAS TO BE LEFT) by using the new password;
  7. Repeat the steps 3 to 5;
  8. From the list of accounts, select the one (THAT HAS TO BE REMOVED);
  9. Click on the “” button to delete the account;
  10. In a window that opens, select the Delete the Home Folder option and click on the Delete User button;
  11. Close the settings of the Users & Groups pane by clicking on the padlock;
  12. Close the window.

These simple steps should eliminate the issue entirely. If there is a need to change the administrator password to the previously used one, it can be done by using the Change Password option in the Users & Groups pane.

 

Sidebar



logo image Is your Mac compatible? Run a scan and clean it in a few clicks Check it Out