What to Do if Keychain Access Asks for Password without Any Reason?

keychain accessTo begin with, Keychain is a Mac OS X feature that stores passwords from various applications and other services that are used on the computer. Normally, when a newly installed program first accesses the Keychain, a dialog box appears asking you to enter a password, and, after entering it, it should not reappear. However, it happens that the password is required every time the program accesses Keychain which it quite annoying, after all. Fortunately, there are several ways to solve this problem.

Disable automatic closing of the Keychain

For security reasons, the Keychain can be locked after a period of time without any activity or when your Mac goes into the sleep mode. You should distinguish this function from blocking the screen. When you close the Keychain, you can work with the computer without entering a password. However, when the screen is blocked, the user is not able to access the system again without reentering the password. It is quite easy to change the settings of this option:

  1. Open the Keychain app from the Utilities folder;
  2. Right-click on the Login and select Change parameters for Keychain “Login”;
  3. In the new window, uncheck the two available items if you want to disable the automatic closing option, or adjust it to your preferences.

Check and fix the Keychain Access app

If your Keychain app does not work properly, you can fix them using the First Aid feature. But prior to this, we recommend you to make sure that it is set up properly.

  1. Open the Keychain app, go to the Settings menu and select the First Aid tab.
  2. Make sure that the last three items are checked, then close this window.
  3. Go to the Keychain First Aid menu.
  4. Enter the login and password for your account, select “Scan” and click the “Start” button.
  5. If any errors arise, select the “Repair” option in the same window and press the “Start” button again.

Disable and Reconnect the Keychain in iCloud

If you use the iCloud keychain to access it on several of your devices, you should try disabling this feature on your Mac, and then re-enabling it. However, before you do this, we strongly recommend you to make sure that you have a complete and up-to-date backup of the system!

  1. Go to the System Preferences menu and proceed to iCloud.
  2. Uncheck Keychain and confirm that you really want to disable this feature.
  3. Then check the box again.

Reset the Keychain Access App

If nothing of the above helps, you can try resetting the Keychain to a new file. Once you do this, you will still have access to the old Keychain file, so your passwords will not be lost. At the same time, the system won’t use them, and you will have to enter the passwords again. To reset the Keychain Access app, open the Keychain app, go to Preference, select the’ Restore default keychain’ option, confirm your choice and wait until the process is finished.

After that, if you need a password stored in the old file, you can open it manually and move the item you need from the list to a new keychain. Otherwise, just double-click the mouse and check the box “Show Password”.

 

Sidebar



logo image Is your Mac compatible? Run a scan and clean it in a few clicks Check it Out