How to Work with the Files App on iOS Devices?

files app iosTo keep all your files in one handy application that you can open and use on any iPad, iPhone or iPod touch is easy and effective for your time-management. It simplifies the files searching process regardless where they are stored.

The Files app collects all the data available in iOS 11. By ‘All,’ we mean files that are used not only on the current equipment but also in apps, on other iOS gadgets, in iCloud Drive storage and other cloud services.

To begin with, we recommend to upgrade iOS to 11th or later version, configure iCloud and activate iCloud Drive.

Add third-party applications

The Files app supports third-party cloud services, such as Dropbox, Box, OneDrive, Google Drive, Adobe Creative Cloud, etc. Stored in the iCloud Drive data is displayed automatically in the Files, but it will require additional configuration to access it in other cloud supply.

To do this on the iPad, iPhone or iPod touch, pursue our guide:

  • Download and configure the app to access the external cloud application.
  • Launch the Files app.
  • Choose Places – Modify.
  • Tap the slider to enable third-party applications that should be supported by the Files app.
  • Select Done.

If there is no external cloud service in the Files app, contact the appropriate developer for assistance.

Control your files

files app accessYou can easily find and coordinate all the files that are saved in iCloud Drive, including Pages, Keynote, and Numbers documents. Once changes are made to a file on one device, they are automatically synchronized on all devices where iCloud Drive is used.

Feel free to maneuver documents from iCloud Drive to various locations using the Files as well. On the iPad, you can easily drag and drop files to the On iPad folder.

On an iPhone or iPod touch, take next actions:

  • To move iCloud Drive data go to Select, tap a file you need to migrate, click on Move icon move file icon  → choose the destination folder to place your file – tap Move.
  • To move third-party cloud data, open the file you need to move, click Share icon share icon → Copy → open the directory where you wish to place the chosen file → press the screen firmly → Paste.

This app allows users to sort files by name, size, date or manually added tags for quick access to the right document or project. Also, there is an option for creating own folders and renaming current folders and files.

To add a tag, go to Select, then tap the needed file, choose Share share icontag icon. Select a tag that you wish to add.

To manage your tags, go to the Locations directory, then Edit. Tap the title of the current tag, type in a new name, tap Done.

To set up a new folder, go to the Locations directory, click iCloud Drive, On My [device]/name of an external cloud service where you wish to keep new item. If your choice fell On My [device], you can add just new subfolders. To proceed, tap an extant folder. Swipe down on the screen, tap new folder icon , type in the title of your new folder. Click Done.

Work on files with friends

To share data with other users, just send them a web link to a file in iCloud Drive you want to share directly from the Files apps. Choose the file and click Share share icon. Send a file via AirDrop app, Messages or Mail. You can make a note with shared access or use one of many other methods.

To invite other users to collaborate on the project in real time, use the Files app. Thus, select a file, click Share icon share icon, then Add People.

Get rid of Docs from the Files App

Choose data you no longer need and click Delete delete icon. Blackout from the iCloud Drive folder files will disappear from other devices as well. ICloud Drive deletes files from all gadgets that are logged in using the same Apple ID.

Files deleted from the iCloud Drive folder or ‘On my [Device]’ are placed in the Recently Deleted folder. In case you cut out some information by accident or changed your mind, you can restore it within 30 days. Go to the Places menu – Recently Deleted. Select the file you wish to save and click Restore. Keep in mind, that after one month, all information will disappear from the Recently Deleted folder.

Now you know how to keep your data in one convenient application. Have an easy work!

Sidebar