How to Normalize TimeMachine After Upgrade to macOS 10.13.3?

Here is one more possible consequence of updating to macOS High Sierra 10.13.3. Some Mac owners have mentioned they are no longer able to define and access their Time Machine backups. It is a catastrophe as many users have all their information stored there, and they risk never accessing it again.

It is impossible to scroll through time. The app’s System Preferences cannot identify any backups. Some users even share sad stories telling the operating system indicates that the folder was created in 2039 after they launch the drive in a content view.

A system may mess up this way in many cases.

Speaking about the confusion with the date, it could be a trivial mistake with date and time settings. The wrong system time along with the date will provoke an improper system performance. A Mac owner should check and install the date and time on the chosen device by turning to the official Apple Support’s website. Apply a time server.

The reconnect process described in this section solves most of the problematic issues. You should still mind that troubleshooting might be a rather time-consuming process, so one has to be patient while the process is on. The offered instructions may help to detect or even fix the most frequently faced issues with macOS 10.13.3.

You may also try to extract the log of Time Machine activity. It is one of the ways to yield the important data.

Extract Time Machine Activity Log

The offered shell script may help to extract Time Machine activity log:

clear; printf ‘\e[3J’ && log show –predicate ‘subsystem == “com.apple.TimeMachine”‘ –info –last 24h | grep -F ‘eMac’ | grep -Fv ‘etat’ | awk -F’]’ ‘{print substr($0,1,19), $NF}’

Copy and paste the command into the Terminal app. If you do not know where to find Terminal, it is located in the Apple computer’s Utilities folder.

A user will obtain the Time Machine activity log for the last day. In order to modify the time period, it is important to switch to a different value. In case the machine is already running, one should not penetrate into the process of its work. The log is a rather resource-consuming. In case you use a portable computer, it will require a full battery to work properly.

Wait patiently for the process to finish. Do not pay attention to the potentially popping up bugs and error messages.

Shut down the Terminal app after the process is over.

Reconnecting Procedure Done Step-by-Step

  1. Launch Time Machine’s Preferences.
  2. Uncheck the Back Up Automatically option.
  3. Stop all the running backups or wait for them to finish to avoid risks.
  4. Disconnect the backup disk from your Apple computer.
  5. Pick the Select Disk option to choose the backup
  6. Pick Remove Disk and Stop Using This Disk afterward.
  7. Connect the backup disk to the target Mac again. Wait to see the corresponding icon on Desktop.
  8. Go to Select Disk once more in the Preferences tab. Re-choose the same one among Available Disks.
  9. Apply Use Disk. Wait for the Waiting to complete first backup message to show up.
  10. Choose Back Up Now not to waste time on time-consuming You should notice a message telling that the source volume is encrypted and the backup volume is not.
  11. Choose Back Up Automatically. Be ready that the “Preparing Backup…” status notification will be there for a while.

That is it! This solution works in the majority of cases.

Sidebar