How Can You Reset iMac to Factory Settings?

For instance, you are an owner of iMac and try to follow its configuration. Like many other users, it makes sense that you wish to have a lot of things on your new computer: from images to large video files and games. It usually results in a slowdown. One day, you may want to return to the factory settings. The reasons might be different: from your decision to sell the old Mac before purchasing a new device to simply giving away the device to someone else. What you should do is to wipe all drives making sure no personal information is stored on your Apple computer.

If you have Mac OS X Lion or later, these steps will work 100%. For earlier versions, there might be nuances. So, here are 3 ways to return your Mac to ‘point zero.

Reinstall Mac OS X

reinstall mac os
Source: apple.com

The shortest way out might be to reinstall target Mac OS X like Lion or up. Just choose the Reinstall Mac OS X option in Disk Utilities. Pick the Install button then. The smart system will do everything on its own, so just have a rest.

Experts recommend backing up the files and folders to the external drive, another internal drive, or iCloud before reinstalling the system. It will help to make sure all the important information is safe.

Boot into Recovery HD

Reboot your Mac. Wait until the chime sound rings out. Then, push and keep holding the COMMAND + R keys altogether. You should see the menu screen popping up. Another option is to reboot the device and pick + hold the OPTION key. In both cases, it is important to do that after the chime. In both cases, a user has to wait until the boot manager screen shows up after holding the required keys. Next, pick the Recovery HD and push the download pointing arrow button.

Erase Mac Hard Drive

erase disk on mac
Source: howtogeek.com

Another popular method to return the Mac to the factory settings is to delete the information on your hard drive in full. To do so:

  1. Choose Disk Utility from the Apple menu. You should find the Continue button now.
  2. Choose the startup volume from the list on the left once Disk Utility launches. The startup volume is Macintosh HD in most situations. Choose the Erase option in the window of Disk Utility.
  3. Determine the type of format to your Mac OS Extended (Journaled.) It is time to select the Erase button. Hold on while the procedure is being accomplished.
  4. Do not forget to exit the Disk Utility tool to come back to the main menu.

Whatever you do, it is necessary to return iMac to the factory settings if you don’t want anyone else to access your personal information.

Sidebar